The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
RobinOffline
Post subject: Record Pressing  PostPosted: Jul 02, 2004 - 07:51 AM
Level 1
Level 1

Sorry if this sounds a bit lame to some of you, but I'm new to this game.

Does anyone know if there is any way I can tell whether my records are 1st 2nd of 3rd pressing etc.. from the vinyl?

Is there a standard way in which this is done or do different labels/artists use different methods?

To what extent can this affect the value of the record? I'm assuming that this will depend entirely on what the record is/condition/rarity etc etc.

All responses appreciated.

Cheers

Reply with quote Back to top
ks45
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 02, 2004 - 08:20 AM
R.C.Guild-SMR
R.C.Guild-SMR

Mikeys the boy to answer this....but surely,the only records re-pressed were those that sold well...and each record company must have had its own accepted levels of success...the big companies didnt have the same economical restraints as some little one-man company in Memphis.
Many companies had a numerical or alphabetical code system for factory purposes which could identify which stamper was used ...I think one of Mikeys earlier post mentioned that a pressing plant could have many presses in action at once producing the same disc,therefore many stampers on the go at the same time.So the coding system was no sure way of DATING one stamper as later than another.
Just read what I've written,and I'm becoming confused!!!!!And havent even started on revised label designs yet!!!!

annaloogOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 02, 2004 - 09:56 AM
R.C.Guild-M-SMR
R.C.Guild-M-SMR