The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
OldiesmannOffline
Post subject: Cataloging Software  PostPosted: Nov 30, 2009 - 05:18 PM
Level 5
Level 5

Although I have been collecting records for several years now, I am just now getting around to cataloging my collection, partly spurred on by my decision to start cataloging my Archie Comics collection, and also because I have records in several places in my room, so I have honestly lost track of what I do and don't have.

For those who have also cataloged their collection on the computer, what software would you recommend? I have tried three different programs so far and have found one that I like, but as I still have a month to decide (before the trial of this software runs out), I am wondering if there might be something better.

Here's what I've tried along with my thoughts on each:

Audiophiler - Looked impressive but I gave up on it because I got an error when trying to create a database.

Music Catalogue Manager - Impressive feature set, and extremely easy to use. I especially liked being able to look up records on musicbrainz.org and discogs.com. However, the look seems a bit outdated, and I had some trouble with the menus in Windows 7 (many times I had to hit alt to focus on the menus before I could click on a menu item). I was also disappointed to see that the support forum is offline and probably has been for some time (they have "recent support posts" listed on their site, and most were spam posts from October of 2008).