The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
alfeizarOffline
Post subject: Promo records from outside the US  PostPosted: Jul 19, 2012 - 10:33 AM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

I'm fairly new to collecting records, and have a few promo copies from the US (gold stamped promos, ELP, time strips, etc). But I haven't seen many promo copies from UK or German records. I do have a Supertramp - Breakfast in America from the UK that has a gold stamped text on the back, that's all I've ever seen in person. Here's a pic

Are there label variations from UK and german copies, or something like the US radio time strips? Maybe this has to do with the big amount of official radio statios that were in the US compared to other countries. I would love to know more about all this Very Happy

Reply with quote Back to top
NorthwindsOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2012 - 05:26 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

Andres, I'm pretty sure there are white label versions, I know there is for Japanese releases. I do have some Metal promos from Germany but they just say For Promotion Only or something like that on the label, they are not WLP's (White Label Promo)

djdaffy1227Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 19, 2012 - 06:35 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

There are definite differences in UK 12" promos in the Prince world. Here are some if mine:

Controversy:

Sign o' the times:

Raspberry beret:

The arms of Orion:

Gett off:

I wish u heaven:

DMSR:

Pope:

I have others but you get the idea. I also have a couple French promos and Brazilian promos.

alfeizarOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 20, 2012 - 09:32 AM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM