The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
DougMacOffline
Post subject: How to Identify Berliiner Reproductions  PostPosted: Apr 04, 2013 - 12:10 PM
Level 2
Level 2

First post! Hello everyone.

I've been collecting 78's for decades. I just bought a Berliner, just to have one in the collection, but I think what I bought was a reproduction. It's "The Owl and the Pussycat", Berliner 4287, Haydn Quartet.

How do you identify an original Berliner from a reproduction?

If it is a reproduction, it's OK. I didn't pay much for it (possible clue). It's a nice conversation piece, if nothing else.

Thanks for your help. I look forward to participating here.

Reply with quote Back to top
AudioGasoline
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 05, 2013 - 04:54 AM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

I'm not a Berliner expert, but I recently stumbled upon a collection of over 20 Berliner discs, so I've been reading up on them a lot. The little info I've found on the repros talk about the back surface having a bubbly appearance; the originals should look kind of smoothish on the back, and sometimes with light straight striations (similar in appearance to the circular striations on the back of one-sided Victrola discs). Another reference spoke about pirated copies (made way back in the day) that would scratch out the "Berliner Gramophone" text before the pirated negative was made, in an effort to get around copyright laws. Supposedly, these copies will look just like the real thing, but without the record company info.

It's interesting that yours is 4287, but the discography states this artist & title as 4284. It could be suspicious, but it could also be a result of their very convoluted catalog system (see the LOC link below). I hope you enjoy your new foray into the world of Berliners; I've had a lot of fun learning about this little pocket of record history, and I've only just scratched the surface.