The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
brioma33Offline
Post subject: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 08:44 AM
Level 4
Level 4


Joined: Feb 21, 2011
Posts: 81
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
I have bought a rca/usb cord to connect my stereo system to my laptop.
I do not know what software I need to get the audio to the laptop.
Is there any good freeware programs out there that will let me burn a cd from my vinyl.
Currently I can't get any sound from the stereo to the computer.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CactusCowboyOffline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 10:21 AM
R.C.Guild-M-SMR
R.C.Guild-M-SMR


Joined: Dec 15, 2005
Posts: 11683
Location: Powell, Wyoming
Status: Offline
Audacity is an audio editing program that's a free download. As for burning CDs, I use Nero, which was bundled in with the computer I bought. There are probably some free programs out there.

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/cactuscowboy
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
brioma33Offline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 11:25 AM
Level 4
Level 4


Joined: Feb 21, 2011
Posts: 81
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Thanks for the info, unfortunately that didn't work. The computer still doesn't recognize any imput from the usb/rca cable
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
GraemeOffline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 11:37 AM
R.C.Guild-M-SMR
R.C.Guild-M-SMR


Joined: Feb 06, 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Quote:

Currently I can't get any sound from the stereo to the computer.


Obviously, you need to fix that before you start concerning yourself about which software to use. First thing to do is to open the control panel and select 'Sounds'. Check that your USB device is both listed and selected. Nothing is going to work until that has happened.

When asking questions like this, it helps if you tell us exactly what hardware you have and what OS you are running. For example rca/usb cable means little - are you talking about something like this - http://www.ionaudio.com/products/details/record-2-pc ?

_________________
Graeme
Some of my music here
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
brioma33Offline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 12:07 PM
Level 4
Level 4


Joined: Feb 21, 2011
Posts: 81
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
I think that the cord I bought is going to be useless.
I simply bought a cord with rca jacks on one end that plug into my stereo receiver out put and the other end is a usb .
I just thought that the sound would end up in a sound file on the laptop, and I was wrong. I then thought that maybe I needed some kind of software to get the audio to a sound file.

I have no idea what OS I am running or what an OS is. I am not all that computer savy. I am only out $4 for the cord. It was worth a try I guess
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alfeizarOffline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 02:44 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM


Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 258
Location: Argentina
Status: Offline
If your laptop has a microphone input you can get a cable with RCA plugs on one side (to conect to your pre amp's tape out) and 3.5mm plug on the other side to connect it to your laptop's mic input. Then you make sure you have audacity and your inputs on windows are properly activated. With that you should record with no problem

_________________
Andres
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Rick-TV!Offline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 21, 2013 - 06:24 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM


Joined: Sep 21, 2006
Posts: 368
Location: The Sunny South Shore
Status: Offline
OS: operating system. Windows 7? Windows XP? Mac OS X.something? Watch your screen next time you turn your computer on.

I see you have a receiver. What you'll need to get it pumped into your computer is a" Y cable" (not much, about $5). You've got the end with the RCA plugs right, but on the other end needs to be a 1/8" connector, like you have on your headphones. The end with the RCAs goes into your receiver's TAPE OUT jacks, and the end with the 1/8" plug goes into your computer's audio input. THAT should get you some audio.

So exchange the USB cable for a Y cable, download Audacity and let us know where you are with things.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
GraemeOffline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 22, 2013 - 06:00 AM
R.C.Guild-M-SMR
R.C.Guild-M-SMR


Joined: Feb 06, 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Using the mic input is not advisable, for a number of reasons;

1 - It is mono only

2 - It is the wrong impedance

3 - It is way too sensitive.

Unless your computer has a LINE input, then I think your best bet is to buy something like I linked to in my last post.

_________________
Graeme
Some of my music here
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
alfeizarOffline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 22, 2013 - 09:06 AM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM


Joined: Jun 18, 2012
Posts: 258
Location: Argentina
Status: Offline
I had no idea mic inputs had those problems, what issue in sound would produce recording with a impedance mismatch?

The ION device seems a bit more expensive but if the OP plans to record more than a few albums it will definitely be worth it

_________________
Andres


Last edited by alfeizar on Apr 22, 2013 - 09:02 PM; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
brioma33Offline
Post subject: RE: software needed  PostPosted: Apr 22, 2013 - 07:32 PM
Level 4
Level 4


Joined: Feb 21, 2011
Posts: 81
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Well I'm making progress. I am now getting sound with the microphone input. I'm not happy with the sound quality& I think Grame might be correct bere. I'll keep trying.
Thanks for everyones help and patience.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 The PNphpBB Group
Credits