The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
JorgeSOffline
Post subject: Help grading unplayed promotional 12 inch vinyl 4 ebay sale  PostPosted: May 18, 2013 - 03:20 PM
Level 1
Level 1

Hello! I'm a newbie to the forum but I've been lurking for months soaking up all I can about the ins & outs of record collecting & selling. If this were a radio show, I'd be a long time listener, first time caller...

My question is as a long-time DJ I have a ton of vinyl I'm planning to someday sell on ebay. I've kept hundreds of hip hop 12 inches & even some sealed albums from the mid 90's to 2007 and I was wondering how I should grade unplayed/unsealed promotional 12 inch vinyl?

From reading the goldmine standard grading scale posted on this site I will surely be looking for imperfections on the sleeves (ring wear/promo cuts/etc) to make sure those are graded properly, but what about the vinyl itself? Are they all VG+ because they're unsealed or would they be closer to NM or NM- ? Also, would unsealed/unplayed still be classified as USED or would they be NEW wax?

Thank you.

Reply with quote Back to top
mackdaddygOffline
Post subject: RE: Help grading unplayed promotional 12 inch vinyl 4 ebay s  PostPosted: May 18, 2013 - 04:05 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

A truly sealed record (meaning that it wasn't opened, played, and re-sealed) is the epitome of Mint. Nothing has touched those precious grooves, so that's as pure as it can get.

The only problem is, if it's sealed, the buyer doesn't know for sure if there are any problems, such as a warped or cracked record.

But, since some stuff goes for premium prices in sealed condition, that may not be much of an issue. So, I guess what I'm saying is a sealed record would qualify as Mint if it has been properly stored over the years.

Also, welcome to the Guild. There are lots of folks here with plenty of useful knowledge.

ChadFromCanadaOffline