The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
philiprollettOffline
Post subject: Another Mingus  PostPosted: Jul 20, 2013 - 03:21 PM
Level 2
Level 2

I noticed there was already a post about a certain album if Charles Mingus but I just wanted to ask some more open questions. I'm pretty new to the world of Jazz, infact so new I'm embarrassed to say I have no jazz records(yet). However on my list is Charles mingus's Charles Mingus Presents Charles Mingus, however I've not yet seen a copy in the UK, is ths a popular release that can still e found for a relatively small price?

If there's any other records by Mingus you'd recommend then please fell free to.

Reply with quote Back to top
rooster
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 20, 2013 - 07:48 PM
R.C.Guild-M-SMR
R.C.Guild-M-SMR

Phil,

Firstly, WELCOME!!!...both to the RCG and to our own threads on the river Styx, The Jazz Forum. There is no need for you to be embarrassed about having no Jazz LPs. we all started out collecting Jazz in the same way...without any records. "Charles Mingus Prsents..." is a fine album. In my opinion, as good a place to start as any and better than some. I find it pretty accessible when playing things for friends who aren't paticularly Jazz people. A Great set of tunes. In the U.S., the LP was originally on the Candid Label and those can be hard to find here in decent condition, in the wild. I would think one would have to pay around 50 - 100 dollars U.S. (realistically) for a nice clean copy. Say VG+, More money will get you an even better copy.

I just looked at Popsike.com and as luck would have it there seems to have been some recent sales. Have a look:

http://www.popsike.com/php/quicksearch.php?pagenum=1&searchtext=charles+mingus+presents+charles+mingus&incldescr=&sortord=ddate&thumbs=&currsel=