The Record Collectors Guild Forum Index

View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
billsanOffline
Post subject: Do vinyl (new bands)made today gives the analog warmth sound  PostPosted: May 22, 2014 - 10:23 PM
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to vinyl collection and just put together my 1st Hi-fi system.
Below are basic description of my gear;

Pro-ject Debut Carbon TT
Pro-ject tube phono preamp
Meixing Mingda integrated tube amp MC-34A
Kef 300Q bookshelves speaker

My focus of my set up is to have good analog sounding. I'm starting to collect my vinyl records now but i hv one big question. Do vinyl records made today (album by later bands) give that analog warmth which vintage vinyl records do?

Im sure in the past before the existence of digital format, music was pressed to vinyl in analog format. Since we are living in a digital world now, does that mean vinyl made today is sourced from digital format? Does that mean that i only get full analog from vintage records before the arrival of digital format?

Hope someone can teach me abit more about vinyl collection.
Cheers!

William Kok

Reply with quote Back to top
mackdaddygOffline
Post subject: RE: Do vinyl (new bands)made today gives the analog warmth s  PostPosted: May 23, 2014 - 07:42 AM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

That's a good question, and similar to something I've wondered for a while as well.

Are new records made from the same masters as cd's? In other words, if you buy a new record, are you basically getting the cd sound on a record?

j_loopOffline
Post subject: Re: Do vinyl (new bands)made today gives the analog warmth s  PostPosted: May 23, 2014 - 12:20 PM
R.C.Guild-SM
R.C.Guild-SM

billsan wrote:
does that mean vinyl made today is sourced from digital format?